Welcome to World Jewish Heritage

Rediscover your heritage like never before

Experience Jewish heritage travel to the fullest with the WJHtravel app

Agoudas Hakehilos

From World Jewish Heritage Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

250px

Basic Information

Location 10 Rue Pavée 75004 Paris, France
Phone number +33 1 48 87 21 54
Country France
City Paris

General Information

Open to visitors yes
Need appointment yes
Handicap accessibility no
Website http://www.fodors.com/world/europe/france/paris/review-176922.html
Geographical Coordinates 48.85606,2.36055


Summary

The Agoudas Hakehilos synagogue (אֲגֻדָּת־הַקְּהִלּוֹת, Union of the communities) is located at 10 rue Pavé, in the IVe arrondissement of Paris (Le Marais quarter). The synagogue’s facade resembles an open book, as the architect, Guimard, used the motif of the Ten Commandments to inspire the building's shape and it’s interior. The furnishings (luminaries, chandeliers, brackets, and benches) as well as the stylized vegetal decorations made of staff and the cast iron railings are all creations of Hector Guimard. This site can only occasionally be visited.


History and time period

The synagogue was erected in 1913 by the architect Hector Guimard, and was inaugurated on June 7, 1914. This synagogue was commissioned by the Agoudas Hakehilos (אֲגֻדָּת־הַקְּהִלּוֹת, Union of the communities) society, composed of Orthodox Jews of primarily Russian origin, headed by Joseph Landau. Its erection is a testament to the massive wave of immigration from Eastern Europe that took place at the turn of the 20th century. Funded by this wealthy Polish-Russian group it did not cost the Parisian community a centime. They intended to provide a spacious and modernized place for Jews accustomed to the intimate and often squalid shtiblakh. This was the only religious building by this architect, who was known for his Art Nouveau designs. On the evening of Yom Kippur in 1941, the building was dynamited along with six other Parisian synagogues. It was subsequently restored and was registered as a monument by the French authorities on June 4, 1989.


Photo Gallery



Related links